Growing in Understanding

toddler with red adidas sweat shirt

Photo by mohamed Abdelgaffar on Pexels.com

“Something is going wrong here. I just cannot relate to this kind of behavior I am encountering just now. This is so different to all that I am used to.”

 “I do not like this kind of being dealt with.”

“Unexpected and unprepared for obstacles can become a hindrance to my achieving essential goals!”

“This situation is altogether unacceptable to me!”

I guess these are feelings many can relate to. Of course, we do not always consciously name or describe such feelings.

Often we are very quick in reacting. We do not linger on analyzing our circumstances. Rather we focus on the way we act on these.

I can spontaneously think of two possible reactions. You either might get aggressive and angry or you might end up feeling insecure and intimidated.

Some would say that insecurity very often is an aspect of displayed anger. You do not want to show any weaknesses so you burst out ferociously. Or you are not sure what to make of some situation and you immediately register that the people involved are somewhat below your standards.

All this could be a psychological description of anger. You feel provoked. You feel intensely irritated.

In 1 Corinthians 13:5 St. Paul says that love “is not easily provoked”. As soon as you give way to ill-feeling you are not focussing on love anymore. Annoyance is not an aspect of love.

My headline for today’s post has been “Growing in Understanding”. Rather than dwelling on our negative feelings we might consider such situations as a challenge to grow.

We might think about how things look from the other’s point of view. How would I react, if I were in exactly the same situation as the other persons involved are? This might be a key to better cope.

My second suggestion is more of a spiritual nature. I might ask what would God have me learn from this situation. What does the bible say about similar circumstances?

Of course, a Christian might always think of Romans 8:28: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”– Keeping this in mind you might burst out saying: Hallelujah, God would have a wonderful way for me to grow even in such unpleasant situations!

IMG_4468MOPTTT

As you check out my subcategory “1 Corinthians 13:5 – Anger” you can get a fuller idea of this subject on my blog. Please feel free to follow me here and not to miss any of my subsequent posts!

About christenfindenruhe

Auf meinem deutschen Blog möchte ich kurze Texte über Matthäus 11 Verse 28 bis 30 veröffentlichen und die frohe Botschaft von Jesus Christus anschaulich machen. Es lohnt sich, Jesus Christus zu vertrauen. On my new English blog "Motivation of Christian Love" I am sharing my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 13 and other biblical texts.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 13:5, anger and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment