Being Kind Regardless of Another’s Response

IMG_3364

So far I have published nine posts of my own referring to kindness. Somehow writing about kindness seemed to be more difficult than dealing with patience. Although St. Paul presents kindness as one aspect of love, to me kindness is somehow synonymous to love.

At times I was concerned lest some of what I have been writing might seem to be rather complicated. After all it has not been my intention to make kindness a sophisticated issue. If you got this impression maybe forget about what I have written and just spontaneously seek to be kind to others. Or perhaps you also might reread some of my posts.

It is comparatively easy to show kindness to those who on their part will be kind to us too. Kinship and similar concepts, ideas or attitudes can give us a sense of belonging together.

Yet there may be various situations for Christians where we are challenged to be kind, although people are unlikely to respond with kindness on their part. Or perhaps we just feel unable to assess how somebody will react or respond. Just think of strangers, of people with special needs and of those who are hurting.

Today I want to conclude my series on kindness. And for that I want to refer to another of the best known parables of our Lord.

Admittedly the story of the ‘Good Samaritan’ was not told to answer a question about kindness. Yet much of what I have been trying to say is evident in this narrative.

The Samaritan was not a member of the Jewish society. His ethnic origin and his religious views tended to be dubious to the Jews. This Samaritan man could not be sure if the one whom he was helping would appreciate his fellowship.

Yet he just did what had to be done to save the life of the one who had been robbed and bruised. After that he even gave money to the owner of the hostel that he should care and provide for this individual.

“He went to him and bandaged his wounds pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, brought him to an inn and took care of him. The next day he took out two silver coins and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’” (Luke 10:34+35/NIV).

IMG_2001hellerTT2

About christenfindenruhe

Auf meinem deutschen Blog möchte ich kurze Texte über Matthäus 11 Verse 28 bis 30 veröffentlichen und die frohe Botschaft von Jesus Christus anschaulich machen. Es lohnt sich, Jesus Christus zu vertrauen. On my new English blog "Motivation of Christian Love" I am sharing my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 13 and other bible texts.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 13:4 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

