So Far Nearly Fifty Posts on 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

IMG_2067hellerMOP

A monkey helping another in matters of cleanliness. (Photograph was taken in Stuttgart zoo: Wilhelma Stuttgart)

 

My blog “Motivation of Christian Love” has been started on December 2nd in 2015. On January 13th I began writing on the first part of 1 Corinthians 13:1. Since that time I have been dealing with only the first three verses of that chapter. That is to say, I spent round about one year writing about these three verses of scripture. Nearly 50 posts have referred to some section of these introductory verses of that chapter. Well, to be honest, I never read that much stuff related to these three verses as I have now written myself.

The tagline of my blog says “My Meditation of 1 Corinthians 13…” I opted to use the word ‘meditation’ here rather than ‘concise exposition’. Nevertheless much what I have written could be an explanatory or illustrative part of an expository sermon. If you would ask me what I mean by ‘My Meditation of…’, I would simply say it is the thoughts and ideas that come to my mind when thinking about the respective verses.

Today I want to proceed to some general observation concerning these three verses. The syntactic composition or these sentences is similar. Paul mentions some skill, gift or activity that might be admired at church. Then he says that this is of limited value, if there should be a lack of love.

The Greek word Paul uses for love is ‘agape’. The rendering of the King James Version ‘charity’ seems to be fairly close to the meaning of the Greek expression.

We are challenged not only to love those we know they will immediately reward us by tokens of love on their part. Love that depends on a loving reaction of another is not what Paul is writing about. Jesus taught that inviting only those, who would be affluent enough to take turns thereafter, is not an activity of unusual virtue.

Today’s use of the word ‘charity’ depicts giving to those who are in need. Really the word ‘agape’ implies loving others regardless of their prospective reaction. Paul maintains that the gifts and religious activities he mentions are of limited value if this kind of love should be lacking.

I do not intend to establish a set of rules what to do to show love. Probably it is not possible to effectively prescribe attitudes by law.

The name of my blog is “Motivation of Christian Love”. My tagline explains what I am writing about: “My Meditation of 1 Corinthians 13 and other Bible Texts”. I am publishing thoughts and ideas that come to my mind.

I have been trying to illustrate and explain the activities and gifts Paul is referring to. Then I have been seeking to trace what a lack of love in these areas might mean.

“Thoughts that come to my mind” – I feel that love is an issue that requires creativity. Otherwise you might develop just a new form of Christian legalism.

How can we know what to do? We might study the bible. We may ask God to show us and to teach us. As we pray to God some thoughts may come to our mind. After that we just need to remember these ideas. Then we may wonder if some answer from God is included.

Widget

About christenfindenruhe

Auf meinem deutschen Blog möchte ich kurze Texte über Matthäus 11 Verse 28 bis 30 veröffentlichen und die frohe Botschaft von Jesus Christus anschaulich machen. Es lohnt sich, Jesus Christus zu vertrauen. On my new English blog "Motivation of Christian Love" I am sharing my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 13 and other bible texts.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

