Is Jesus Real to You?

IMG_1503hz

Enjoying relationship. (Picure taken in the zoo: Wilhelma Stuttgart)

 

 

Is Jesus real to you? I am not asking if you know all the stories about Jesus in the bible. Nor am I enquiring about your theological knowledge concerning Jesus Christ.

You might know many things about Jesus but still not love him. You may have theoretical knowledge without putting your trust on the Lord.

It is possible to have studied all the instructions and commandments Jesus gave to his disciples and to other people and still to miss out on aspects doing of God’s will. You might boast with some good works but still in other areas of your life do things that would not be pleasing to God.

St. Paul says: “And though I … understand all mysteries and all knowledge … and have not charity, I am nothing.” (1 Corinthians 13:2/KJV). Mere knowing about spiritual things is insufficient. God is looking for our loving application of His word.

Here are two verses of John 14. Jesus said: “He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.” – “Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.” (John 14:21+23/KJV).

If we truly obey the Lord’s words he will reveal himself to us. He will come into our lives and dwell with us.

Can any human being fully obey God’s commandments? We are missing out and failing.

Jesus calls believers to come to him and to acknowledge their spiritual poverty. He says: “Behold, I stand at the door and knock: if any man hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” (Revelation 3:20/KJV).

You might invite him to come into your live praying the following prayer:

“Lord I know, I am a sinner and failing in many ways. I am falling short of obeying your words. I do not care that much about doing your will and following your precepts. I have nothing to boast before you. I need your grace. I need your forgiveness. I need you to come into my life and to make everything new. I need you to plant the seed of your divine love into my life.

“Be thou my Lord and my Saviour! Cleanse me and sanctify me. Teach me your ways! I need your presence in my life. Henceforth I want to be counted among your disciples and I want to learn from you.”

Many of my readers will have prayed  similar words at the time of their conversion. Acknowledging our own sinfulness, relying on God’s grace and asking Jesus to be our Lord and Saviour all this is essential to any love relationship with God and Jesus Christ.

As you are looking for a deepening of your relationship with the Lord these principles are essential too. We must depend on the Lord’s grace also to see the fruit of the Spirit grow in our lives:

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22+23/KJV).

 

About christenfindenruhe

Auf meinem deutschen Blog möchte ich kurze Texte über Matthäus 11 Verse 28 bis 30 veröffentlichen und die frohe Botschaft von Jesus Christus anschaulich machen. Es lohnt sich, Jesus Christus zu vertrauen. On my new English blog "Motivation of Christian Love" I am sharing my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 13 and other bible texts.
This entry was posted in bible and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

