Triggered off Reactions versus Empathetic Understanding

IMG_1912

Admittedly I don’t know much about hunting. In previous centuries rich people were riding on horses accompanied by some dogs to frighten some wild animals. They would pursue the game until some of their prospective prey would get tired of running away. Then the rest would be comparatively easy.

In wildlife a wolf might hunt some other animal for food purposes. Yet how was it possible to get dogs do the same for man?

I do not intend to recount behavioural theories in this post. I never had a dog of my own and I cannot tell that many stories about dogs.

As far as I can see, dogs as they grow up tend to develop certain habits. As a pet holder you can encourage behaviour that you are pleased with.

Obviously medieval hunters knew how to incite their dogs to the chase. They would give some kind of signal for their dogs to start off.

Again I am considering some aspect of 1 Corinthians 13:1: “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.”

The Greek word translated ‘tinkling’ is derived from a word that would refer to a shout or a halloo. A halloo is a shout or some signal to incite dogs to the chase.

As I discovered this my thoughts were triggered off. What I then intended to say might be considered a pet theory of mine.

Admittedly instincts can be helpful in many situations. Any answers you have on stock enable you to react quickly.

Often in life you cannot afford lengthy discussions about what to do. If you drive a car and a traffic light turns red you are expected to stop your car as soon as possible in order to avoid an accident. You may think about the beauty of the red colour or some other details. You may bewail the fading away of the green or yellow light. Dwelling on such notions could easily lead to dangerous or even life threatening situations.

Now this is not what I was thinking about when I discovered the detail above mentioned concerning the origin of the Greek word translated ‘tinkling’. I thought about preaching and Christian ministry. I felt that believers should be led to higher levels of understanding.

I tend to dislike hasty answers. There may be some rightful place for that at times.

Yet very often Christians ought to be more empathetic. Love calls for listening to others carefully.

Pet theological theories can be dangerous. We need to grow in understanding and discernment.

As far as I can see, hunting and devouring others is an aspect of the works of the flesh listed by St. Paul in Galatians 5.

“If ye keep on biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.” (Galatians 5:15 NIV).

About christenfindenruhe

Auf meinem deutschen Blog möchte ich kurze Texte über Matthäus 11 Verse 28 bis 30 veröffentlichen und die frohe Botschaft von Jesus Christus anschaulich machen. Es lohnt sich, Jesus Christus zu vertrauen. On my new English blog "Motivation of Christian Love" I am sharing my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 13 and other bible texts.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 13:1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

