Goals for Christian Believers to Pursue

This is my second post in standard format on https://motivationofchristianlove.wordpress.com. In my first article, I have jotted down some of my ideas on “Motivation of Christian Love”. On this new site I intend to deal with 1 Corinthians 13 a great chapter on love in the bible.

Today I refer to the last verse before this chapter begins. St. Paul leads us straight into the great theme of love in a Christian’s life and service.

He exhorted the Corinthian believers: “But covet earnestly the best gifts; and yet shew I unto you a more excellent way.” (1 Corinthians 12:31 KJV)

Suppose you are a Christian believer and you wish to do something for God. Maybe you want to get involved in some branch of the ministry of a church. Or perhaps you are looking for some other avenue of Christian service.

In chapter 12 Paul has stated that the Holy Spirit enables people as He chooses to. Now in the above verse we learn that we also may seek after spiritual gifts. We may pray to God that He should equip us to be a blessing, taking over some task or responsibility. We also might receive some training.

Covet earnestly the best gifts. The word ‘covet’ implies an emotional desire or longing.

In 1 Corinthians 12 verses 28 to 30 Paul has listed a number of spiritual gifts. We find another list in verses 8 to 10. Paul does not plainly say which would be the best gifts for us to seek after and to obtain. (There are a number of hints and guidelines in chapters 12 and 14, but I cannot discuss these in this post.)

I want to direct our thoughts to what might be suitable for you and me. In what activities could I or could you get involved? What will help you and me to grow spiritually? What are my abilities and aptitudes? What are yours?

Paul encourages us to seek after the best gifts. He carries on, saying, he intends to point out a more excellent way. Then he devotes a whole chapter to the theme of love.

Whatever we do with a loving heart considering the real needs of individuals will be valuable. We are more likely to perform well if we are motivated by sincere love.

Paul suggests goals for Christian believers to pursue. He encourages us to seek after the best gifts and he points us to the importance of genuine love.

 

 

About christenfindenruhe

Auf meinem deutschen Blog möchte ich kurze Texte über Matthäus 11 Verse 28 bis 30 veröffentlichen und die frohe Botschaft von Jesus Christus anschaulich machen. Es lohnt sich, Jesus Christus zu vertrauen. On my new English blog "Motivation of Christian Love" I am sharing my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 13 and other bible texts.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 12:31 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

